Hendrick Motorsports: NASCAR Racing Teams

Editorial credit: Grindstone Media Group / Shutterstock.com

Hendrick Motorsports is currently the most successful team in NASCAR. Founded in 1984 by Rick Hendrick and the legendary Harry Hyde, the team has won numerous races and championships, Including the following

  • 14 NASCAR Cup Series championships most recently with Kyle Larson in 2021
  • 1 Xfinity Series Chmpionships
  • 3 Truck Series Championship.

and has fielded some of the sport’s most talented drivers including Jimmie Johnson, jeff Gordon, Chase Elliott, Kyle Larson, Dale Earnhardt Junior, Mark Kartin, Darrell Waltrip, Kyle Busch, Terry Labonte and benny Parsons.

The team was originally founded by Rick hendricks, Raymond Beadle, and Harry Hyde ( who the characters of Harry Hogge was based on in Days of Thunder) Under the name All Star racing, and changed to Hendrick Motorsports in 1985. Although it started with one car in the early years it expanded quickly to 2 cars in 1986, and then three in 1987. Till the Four cars we know know in 2002.

Having 4 chances certainly doesn’t hurt your chances in NASCAR races, although it still took 19 more years from the introduction of that 4th car to claim the title of most team wins in NASCAR beating Petty Enterprises in 2021 ( at the Coca Cola 600 no less). Petty Enterprises had held that record since 1960!

Hendricks Drivers

Although saying the current line up of drivers is impressive is an understatement, even they are outshone by the two most iconic drivers associated with Hendrick Motorsports. These are Jeff Gordon and Jimmie Johnson.

Jeff Gordon won four Cup Series championships for the team in the 1990s and early 2000s, with the first in 1995, and he is widely regarded as one of the greatest drivers in NASCAR history. He spent his Entire driving career with Hendricks Motorsports.

Jimmie Johnson and Jeff gordon Hendrick motorsports
Editorial credit: Grindstone and Photo Works / Shutterstock.com

Jimmie Johnson need no introduction, but that’s what got him his start at Hendricks Motorsports when worried about his future after losing sponsors he introduced himself to Jeff Gordon and met with Rick hendrick. It was a meeting that both sides are incredibly happy happened. He won 7 championships and 83 races in the 48 car, (No pressure Alex Bowman!) and has returned to try his hand on a part time basis in 2023.

Team NameHendricks Motorsports
First Race1984 Daytona 500
LocationConcord, North Carolina
Team OwnerRick Hendrick
Linda Hendrick
Jeff Gordon
Current Drivers and NumbersKyle Larson (5)
Chase Elliot (9)
William Byron (24)
Alex Bowman (48)
NASCAR Cup Championships14
Total Daytona 500 Wins8
Total Cup Series Races1307
Total Cup series Wins291
Total Cup Series Pole Positions240
WebsiteHendricksmotorsports.comOpens in a new tab.
As of February 2023

Daytona 500 and Hendricks.

There are 8 victories in the Superbowl of NASCAR, the DAytona 500, with the first coming 2 years after the teams debut. When Geoffrey Bodine won from 2nd place on the grid in 1986. The last victory was in 2014 which was a back to back victory with Jimmie Johnson, who has returned to NASCAR racing for the 2023 Season, at least some of it, with Legacy Motor Club (formally Petty GMS).

2023 may well be the year that Hendricks take the flag at America’s most coveted race with 2 cars on the front line. ( we wrote this about 13 hours before the start fo the race, so we can be proved write or wrong very quickly!

Alex Bowman leads the pack in Pole, with his Teammate Kyle Larson in the number two spot. Hendricks have another car in the top ten starters with Chase Elliot in 8th spot. William Byron starts a little further down the order in 21st. However it is the Daytona 500 so anything can happen!

Rick hendrick and jimmie Johnson Nascar Racing teams
Editorial credit: Bruce Alan Bennett / Shutterstock.com

In Recent Years: Hendrick Motorsports

In recent years, Hendrick Motorsports have continued to be a hugely dominant force in NASCAR, with drivers like Chase Elliott, Kyle Larson, William Byron, and Alex Bowman. Elliott won the Cup Series championship in 2020, and was followed in 2021 by Kyle Larson.

Despite being the most winning team in NASCAR the hunger is clearly still there, from the boardroom to the track and you can expect them to be fighting for that 15th Championship deep into the 2023 season.

Links to Other NASCAR Team Information.

23xiFront Row MotorsportsHendrick MotorsportsJoe Gibbs Racing
JTG Daugherty RacingKaulig RacingLegacy Motor ClubLive Fast Motorsports
RFK RacingRichard Childress RacingRick Ware RacingSpire Motorsports
Stewart Haas RacingTeam PenskeTrackhouse RacingWood Brothers Racing


Al lifelong Motor Racing Fan, with a particular love of NASCAR and IndyCar racing. Been in and out of cars of varying speeds since i was a child and sharing what i have learnt here.

Recent Posts