Joe Gibbs Racing: NASCAR Racing Teams

Editorial credit: Grindstone Media Group /

Joe Gibbs Racing (JGR) is a very successful team in NASCAR history. Founded by former NFL coach Joe Gibbs in 1992, the team has won 200 NASCAR Cup races and currently five championships as well as 193 (as of February 2023) in the Xfinity series as well.

Although originally a General Motors team for the first sixteen years in changed to the then new Manufacturer Toyota in 2007. Kyle Busch went on to win the first championship for Toyota in 2015 with Joe Gibbs racing.

Another key factor in JGR’s success is their ability to attract and retain top talent. The team has fielded some of the most talented drivers in NASCAR history, including Tony Stewart, Kyle Busch, Denny Hamlin, and Martin Truex Jr.

Denny Hamlin, Christopher Bell, Martin Truex Junior and Ty Gibbs will be running for Joe Gibbs racing in 2023.

These drivers have won numerous races and championships for JGR across NASCAR series, and have become some of the most recognizable figures in the sport. With Kyle Busch winning the championship again in 2019, and his team mate, Martin truex Jr, finishing just 5 points behind him in second and

In recent years, JGR has continued to dominate in NASCAR. In 2019, Kyle Busch won his second Cup Series championship, and the team also won the Xfinity Series championship with driver Christopher Bell and new driver this year Ty Gibbs.

In 2020, Denny Hamlin won his third Daytona 500, all with Joe Gibbs Racing and the team had a strong showing throughout the season and subsequent seasons following this.

They are clearly here to stay, and are likely to be a series title contender this season.

Team NameJoe Gibbs Racing
First Race1969, Talladega 500
LocationHuntersville, North Carolina
Team OwnerJoe Gibbs
Current Drivers and NumbersDenny Hamlin (11)
Martin Truex Jr. (19)
Christopher Bell (20)
Ty Gibbs (54)
NASCAR Cup Championships5
Total Cup Series Races1060
Total Cup series Wins200
Total Cup Series Pole Positions133
WebsiteJoe Gibbs RacingOpens in a new tab.
As of February 2023

You can check out the teams currently racing in the NASCAR Cup Series on the link here and below.

Links to Other NASCAR Team Information.

23xiFront Row MotorsportsHendrick MotorsportsJoe Gibbs Racing
JTG Daugherty RacingKaulig RacingLegacy Motor ClubLive Fast Motorsports
RFK RacingRichard Childress RacingRick Ware RacingSpire Motorsports
Stewart Haas RacingTeam PenskeTrackhouse RacingWood Brothers Racing

Recent Posts