Team Penske – NASCAR Racing Teams

Team Penske was founded by Roger Penske in 1966 and entered NASCAR in 1972 at the Riverside international Raceway. it was part time until 1976 when it went full time finishing 4th with Bobby Allison.

Although they ran two further races in 1980 they didn’t race fully again until 1991 with Rusty Wallace. Although they used worked with Ford they switched to dodge in 2003. They continued with Dodge until 2013 when they returned to Ford. However in 2012 Brad Keselowski won Team Penske their first NASCAR sprint title.

138 victories and 4 championships later, with Logano picking up the championship in 2018 and again in 2022, Team Penske are a force to be reckoned with in NASCAR. They have always been a force in Indy car with 6 championships, and a further 9 in CART. On top of 18 Indy 500 victories!

The NASCAR team is based in Mooresville, North Carolina, and has a state-of-the-art facility that houses its NASCAR and sports car operations. Its IndyCar program is based in Indianapolis, Indiana, and has close ties now that they actually own the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Team Penske has fielded cars for some of the biggest names in racing, including Mario Andretti, Mark Donohue, Rick Mears, Rusty Wallace, and Brad Keselowski.

The team has also developed a reputation for identifying and developing young talent, such as Joey Logano and Ryan Blaney in NASCAR, and Josef Newgarden in IndyCar.

Team Penske In 2023

The team is well set for 2023 with Joey Logano picking up where he finished the 2022 season with a win at the Duel at Daytona. Though the competition is fierce this year from not jsut other teams but Team Penske’s line up of

2. Austin Cindric
12. Ryan Blaney
22. Joey Logano

Especially with Defending Daytona Champion Austin Cindric looking for a back to back of Daytona wins.

In sports car racing, Team Penske has competed in a variety of series, including the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, where it has won several races and championships. The team has also had success in endurance racing, including winning the 24 Hours of Daytona in 1969 and the 12 Hours of Sebring winning in 2008.

They have also won a formula 1 race, the last American team to win a F1 Grand Prix. ( the Austrian Grand Prix in 1976)

In total Team Penske have won upwards of 41 ChampionshipsOpens in a new tab. across multiple Motor racing series which we break down some of them courtesy of Wiki below.

Racing SeriesNumber of Championships
Nascar Cup4
Xfinity 2

Team Penske has a much coveted position in Motorsports seeing success in multiple series over multiple years and judging from the early results in 2023 this doesnt look like changing any time soon.

. Its commitment to excellence, advanced technology, and talented personnel have helped it to achieve consistent success across multiple forms of racing. With a strong stable of drivers and continued investment in its operations, Team Penske is poised to continue its winning ways for years to come.

Links to Other NASCAR Team Information.

23xiFront Row MotorsportsHendrick MotorsportsJoe Gibbs Racing
JTG Daugherty RacingKaulig RacingLegacy Motor ClubLive Fast Motorsports
RFK RacingRichard Childress RacingRick Ware RacingSpire Motorsports
Stewart Haas RacingTeam PenskeTrackhouse RacingWood Brothers Racing

Recent Posts